Lucy Beth Fraser

Minimum Goal: 
$8,000
Amount Raised: 
$7,420
DONATE TO THIS CLIENT NOTE: On our donation form, make sure to pick the name of the client you want to sponsor under the Program Menu and check whether or not we can share your contact information with the client. Client fundraising totals are manually updated weekly (not automatically) which allows 100% of each donation to be allocated towards each client’s fundraising goal.

Hi, my name is Lucy Beth Fraser. I am 16 years old from Sharon, Massachusetts. At age 2, I was diagnosed with juvenile arthritis (psoriatic) and I have since also been diagnosed with crohn’s disease, osteopenia, raynaud’s syndrome, asthma, and heterotopic ossification in my jaw.  Despite excellent medical care, I have never achieved remission of my arthritis and it has affected over 30 joints throughout my body.  When the medications are working, I am able to participate on a competitive dance team, and be a part of my high school theatre company. Unfortunately, my disease is stubborn and refuses to leave me be so about 2-3 months of every year since I have been diagnosed, I am bound to a wheelchair or need to use assistive devices such as crutches to navigate my daily life. 

I spend every day in chronic pain and am on over 20 medications to control my arthritis as well as my various other diseases. I am currently preparing for my 11th major surgery, this time on my jaw. When I was 11years old I had a complete right jaw joint replacement because my arthritis had eroded the joint, and in its place I had grown bone that fused my jaw to my skull, allowing me to only open my mouth 4 millimeters. All of these diseases and the medications that treat them cause fatigue, which means I have limited energy and I have to use what energy I do have wisely. I choose to focus my energy on school above all else because I love to learn and I dream of one day being able to help others with what I have learned.

When I am in my wheelchair, doing things like opening doors and pushing buttons can be a challenge. I aspire to be a mechanical engineer and, when I grow up, I want to work on developing mobility assist devices for people with disabilities. To do this I need to be able to go to college, which requires a lot of independence. When my disease is flaring, I struggle to maintain my independence as I need help from a parent, teacher, or friend to open doors, and to retrieve items from the floor, from heights, and from a distance (e.g. across a room). A service dog would be able to do these things for me, thereby making a huge difference in my ability to live independently and pursue my educational goals. A Service Dog would also motivate me to get up and move around, which is very important to maintain the mobility I currently have in my joints. Having a Service Dog would change my future and what I can realistically do as I continue to grow up, as well as allowing me to pursue a career that puts me in a position to help other people like me. Thank you for donating and supporting my future.