Staff Leadership


Gerry DeRoche

Chief Executive Officer
Working with the Management Team and the Board of Directors, Gerry has overall responsibility for the daily operations of NEADS. In addition he works to develop and implement strategies for the long term success of the organization. He joined NEADS in 2010 after a career as a banker and consultant. “My goal was to work for a not-for-profit with a social purpose. I feel privileged to be part of an organization that helps people achieve a greater degree of independence one World Class Service Dog at a time.”
Nate Photography,

Cathy Zemaitis

Chief Development and Program Officer
Cathy joined NEADS in 2012. As the Chief Development and Program Officer, she has the honor of working with donors, supporters, vendors and an amazing staff to secure funding for NEADS’ present and future. “I am constantly amazed and humbled by the people who make it possible for us to bring our dogs to those who truly need them. It is because of their generosity that we are able to do what we do best…raise, train and match World Class Service Dogs.”
Nate Photography,

Kathy Foreman

Director of Canine Development
As NEADS Director of Canine Development, Kathy oversees the day-to-day management of the Hawkins Canine Center as well as its strategic direction. The Manager of Training, who has responsibility for our training program, Prison Pup Program (PPP), trainer strings, and strategic planning for our training operations, reports to Kathy. Kathy has been with our organization for 38 years.

Katie Hanna

Manager of Client Services
Katie Hanna, LTC, USAR (Retired), is responsible for matching eligible clients with their Service Dogs through our very personalized intake and evaluation process.  The favorite part of her job is letting a client know when a match has been made with the right Service Dog for that client – it is always a thrill to make that call.  Katie also enjoys speaking locally and nationally about the life-changing partnerships between NEADS clients and their Service Dogs.
Nate Photography,

Audrey Trieschman

Director of Communications and Workforce Engagement
Audrey joined NEADS in 2017. As Director of Communications and Workforce Engagement, she will continue to strengthen external communications to get the word about this amazing community of staff, volunteers, donors, clients, and World Class Service Dogs as well as working to continually enhance the internal culture. “I am in awe of what the NEADS community accomplishes every day and am thankful for the opportunity to tell the story of these amazing, highly trained Service Dogs and the lives they change.”

Board of Directors

Chair of the Board
Geoff Worrell

Vice Chair
A. Kim Saal, MD

Scott Notargiacomo

Graham Chevry


Vanessa Brown

Sue Feit

James Hicks

Carol Krauss

Tina Rice

Executive Cabinet

Terri Bright, Ph. D., MSPCA-Angell Animal Medical Center
J. Stanley Edwards, LandVest
Jill Gains, Iron Mountain
Cris Haverty, Lasell University
Phyllis LeBlanc, Harbor Sweets
Alicia Lenahan, Esq.
Lynn Levey, Clark University
Judy Rossi, Open Fields Communications, LLC